New Events

no events posted in last week

Blog Feeds

The Saker
A bird's eye view of the vineyard

offsite link Moveable Feast Cafe 2020/09/27 ? Open Thread Sun Sep 27, 2020 03:00 | Herb Swanson
2020/09/27 02:00:01Welcome to the ‘Moveable Feast Cafe’. The ‘Moveable Feast’ is an open thread where readers can post wide ranging observations, articles, rants, off topic and have animate discussions of

offsite link The world has gone absolutely insane! Fri Sep 25, 2020 22:36 | The Saker
[this column was written for the Unz Review] We all know that we are living in crazy, and dangerous, times, yet I can?t help being awed at what the imperial

offsite link Why the Middle East ?peace agreements? will fail to achieve their purpose Fri Sep 25, 2020 17:43 | amarynth
By Aram Mirzaei for the Saker blog This week, a third Arab country has reportedly agreed to submit to Washington’s pressure to normalize relations with the Zionist state. This was

offsite link The Sheep of the Apocalypse Fri Sep 25, 2020 17:36 | amarynth
By Jimmie Moglia for the Saker Blog There is a history in all men?s lives, and in the history of their lives men often meet with mysteries, meaning events inexplicable

offsite link Iran Says Houthis Use Its Military Know-How In Battle Against Saudi Arabia Wed Sep 23, 2020 23:41 | amarynth
South Front Iran has supplied Ansar Allah (also known as the Houthis) with technical expertise and know-how, a spokesman for the Iranian Armed Forces Brigadier General Abolfazl Shekarchi said on

The Saker >>

Public Inquiry
Interested in maladministration. Estd. 2005

offsite link Sarah McInerney and political impartiality

offsite link Did RTE journalists collude against Sinn Fein? Anthony

offsite link Irish Examiner bias Anthony

offsite link RTE: Propaganda ambush of Sinn Fein Anthony

offsite link Hong Kong and democracy Anthony

Public Inquiry >>

Human Rights in Ireland
A Blog About Human Rights

offsite link Right to Water Mon Aug 03, 2020 19:13 | Human Rights

offsite link Human Rights Fri Mar 20, 2020 16:33 | Human Rights

offsite link Turkish President Calls On Greece To Comply With Human Rights on Syrian Refugee Issues Wed Mar 04, 2020 17:58 | Human Rights

offsite link US Holds China To Account For Human Rights Violations Sun Oct 13, 2019 19:12 | Human Rights

offsite link UN Human Rights Council Should Address Human Rights Crisis in Cambodia Sat Aug 31, 2019 13:41 | Human Rights

Human Rights in Ireland >>

Spirit of Contradiction

offsite link The Party and the Ballot Box Sun Jul 14, 2019 22:24 | Gavin Mendel-Gleason

offsite link On The Decline and Fall of The American Empire and Socialism Sat Jan 26, 2019 01:52 | S. Duncan

offsite link What is Dogmatism and Why Does It Matter? Wed Mar 21, 2018 08:10 | Sylvia Smith

offsite link The Case of Comrade Dallas Mon Mar 19, 2018 19:44 | Sylvia Smith

offsite link Review: Do Religions Evolve? Mon Aug 14, 2017 19:54 | Dara McHugh

Spirit of Contradiction >>

At the Height of the Lockdown 600 a Week Dying from Heart Attack in London

In London alone 600 people a week more are now dying from heart attack because they were afraid to go to hospital.
Fear-Fueling Lockdowns Have Caused Gargantuan Excess Deaths Spikes They’re Trying to Blame on Covid-19
Full story: here
See also how in this article :The virus that turned up late Alistair Haimes shows via the published death numbers this is no worse than the flu. And chances are most of the deaths are due to the lockdown!

international / anti-capitalism / opinion/analysis Thursday September 10, 2020 06:55 by Jason Phelan
Antifa and Black Lives Matter are now forever interconnected with the NBL, the NFL, NASCAR, ESPN, Goodyear, Gillette, A&E, CBS, Netflix, BBC, CNN, Buzz feed, Vice, Yahoo. This is a condensed list of some of the bigger players. Counter culture indeed. read full story / add a comment
cork / health / disability issues / opinion/analysis Monday September 07, 2020 01:50 by Michael Donahue Steinberg
During this Labor Day weekend here the US, we're number 1 in Covid deaths and have millions out of work consequently, Here in San Francisco, as fires rage and smoke overwhelms, we're supposed to stay inside with our windows shut and have no fun. In light of all this, I thought I'd share Cork-born labor heroine Mother Jones' experience of surviving the epidemic of her day. read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Sunday August 30, 2020 20:59 by Anthony Ravlich
In my view, distrust of the UN is the reason America opposed economic, social, and cultural rights as promoted by Bernie Sanders and as included in ethical human rights. read full story / add a comment
Satire on Romantic Suicide (1839) by Leonardo Alenza y Nieto (1807–1845)
international / arts and media / opinion/analysis Wednesday July 29, 2020 19:17 by Caoimhghin Ó Croidheáin   image 1 image
“We are slipping back from the age of reason into the mire of mystery, into a world of gods and devils, ghouls and angels. The difference this time is that we have chosen ignorance over knowledge, vapidity over insight, folly over realism. Consequently, we only have ourselves to blame when the rich and powerful take advantage of us.” – Andrew Davenport

Introduction

Why do we need to talk about Romanticism? What is Romanticism? And how does it affect us in the 21st century? The fact is that we are so immersed in Romanticism now that we cannot see the proverbial wood for the haunted-looking trees. Romanticism has so saturated our culture that we need to stand back and remind ourselves what it is, and examine how it has seeped into our thinking processes to the extent that we are not even aware of its presence anymore. Or why this is a problem. The Romanticist influence of intense emotion makes up a large part of modern culture, for example, in much pop music, cinema, TV and literature, e.g. genres such as Superheroes, Fantasy, Horror, Magical realism, Saga, Westerns. I will look at the origins of Romanticism, and its negative influence on culture and politics. I will show how Enlightenment ideas originally emerged in opposition to an absolute monarchy and the fixed dogmas of the Church and led to the formation of a working class ideology and culture of resistance. read full story / add a comment
international / environment / opinion/analysis Sunday July 12, 2020 16:47 by lefty   text 5 comments (last - saturday july 18, 2020 19:21)
Michael Moore's important new film 'Planet of Humans' has given shape to suspicions that I and many others have had about the burgeoning green movement and what is driving it's sudden popularity across the spectrum, despite all the years "in the wilderness" when old school green activists were pariahs.
Of course It's the usual reason as we suspected: i.e. corporate PROFIT!
WATCH THIS MOVIE!! read full story / add a comment
international / politics / elections / opinion/analysis Thursday July 02, 2020 12:40 by Joe Terry
Comparing similarities of the Political Governance in Ireland to that of China.
read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Monday June 29, 2020 22:26 by 1 of indy   text 1 comment (last - sunday july 12, 2020 16:32)
Finally there is someone out there and certainly not from the mainstream media who is calling bullshit on the whole Covid nonsense. In this opinion piece by John Church from the hectordrummond blog, many will nod their head in agreement. He really cuts through the crap.

I have had enough. After nearly 3 months of this, I am going to call it for what it is: TOTAL AND UTTER NONSENSE. I cannot watch any news programme anymore, given the 24/7 monochromal pseudo-emotion that is all we ever see. read full story / add a comment
King George II equestrian monument
national / history and heritage / opinion/analysis Thursday June 18, 2020 17:19 by Caoimhghin Ó Croidheáin   image 5 images
"Symbols are what unite and divide people. Symbols give us our identity, our self-image,our way of explaining ourselves to others. Symbols in turn determine the kinds of stories we tell; and the stories we tell determine the kind of history we make and remake."
Mary Robinson, Inauguration speech as President of Ireland, December 3, 1990

Introduction

On the night of the 8 March 1966 a massive explosion was heard in the centre of Dublin and Nelson's Pillar came crashing to the ground in hundreds of tons of rubble. No one was hurt and a stump was all that could be seen of the 157 year old monument. It was not the first time that monuments had been attacked in Ireland and certainly not the last, at least figuratively, with a series of later monuments accruing many derogatory nicknames from the Dublin people.

The recent spate of attacks on monuments in the US and the Uk has opened up the debate on the cultural issues they provoke, ranging from those who can't believe the attacks hadn't happened sooner to those who see their destruction as mob vandalism.
read full story / add a comment
national / worker & community struggles and protests / opinion/analysis Monday June 15, 2020 23:47 by 1 of indy
Today we are reproducing a press release from the Socialist Party on Covid-19 with our own comments added because the Left in general along with all the opposition parties has completely swallowed the Covid-19 is a deadly pandemic narrative hook, line and sinker. On another story soon, we will address the why. In the meantime from their perspective protecting workers rights and health is the natural thing to do but they seem confused by the sudden concern by the government for people. We offer a different perspective that explains things in a more consistent way,
read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Wednesday May 13, 2020 09:28 by Anthony Ravlich
If my book was far less suppressed the UN may take a more positive view of Taiwan's wish to gain formal recognition in the World Health Organization. The UN seems to be following China's 'One-China policy' by excluding Taiwan. read full story / add a comment
international / history and heritage / opinion/analysis Monday May 11, 2020 22:33 by Kollektiv.26 - Autonomous Group Ulm
May 8th is the day of liberation for many of those suffering Nazi persecution. What is still missing today is denazification, coming to terms with the crimes, a culture of remembrance. read full story / add a comment
international / anti-war / imperialism / opinion/analysis Monday May 04, 2020 09:14 by Zahir Ebrahim | Project Humanbeingsfirst.org   1 attached file
Pandemic 2020 is to bring the world multiple steps closer to one-world dystopia. This could very well be the Year Zero of Dystopian World Order. However, that final stage before one-world government can be fully cemented into earth history without remnance of public resistance, must still be an even graver cosmological threat of existential proportions, an alien invasion... but we shall see how far this microbial enemy can take us on the Hard Road to a New Dystopian World Order.

That alien threat isn't so far fetched as may first appear to the innocent of knowledge: The Pentagon has released three unclassified videos taken by Navy pilots showing unidentified flying objects, reports world's news media in unison on April 27, 2020, just in time to add to mankind's existential worries. read full story / add a comment
Brunelleschi, in the building of the dome of Florence Cathedral (Italy) in the early 15th century (1296-1436), not only transformed the building and the city, but also the role and status of the architect.
international / arts and media / opinion/analysis Saturday May 02, 2020 15:23 by Caoimhghin Ó Croidheáin   image 1 image
Should sustainability and affordability be a major factor in the design and development of future buildings? What about aesthetics? There are many individual examples of modern buildings today that have positive aesthetic qualities, but can major future problems, like climate change, be resolved by individual efforts? Or will it take the role of the state with grand visions for the future? read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Thursday April 30, 2020 15:16 by Anthony Ravlich
The connection between the coronavirus pandemic, China, the United Nations and a One World Government. read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Thursday April 23, 2020 23:26 by Zahir Ebrahim | Project Humanbeingsfirst.org   1 attached file
This latest compendium of essays on medical and climate pretexts for constructing world order: The Useful Idiot's Guide to Pandemic 2020, is my last. Vaccines for coronavirus Covid-19 plaguing mankind at this moment, when most nations on earth have some level of lockdown with stay at home orders, shall soon become the medical establishment's next big sales pitch. The fear-mongering coupled to the deadly man-made contagion would have been a most successful marketing exercise in history in global demand creation for vaccines.

Vaccination will not be voluntary either, but mandatory, and sanctioned by law. You make up your own damn mind after reading this book whether you wish to take that vaccine and enter the brave new world that it shall herald, or, resist taking it and end up belonging to the new undesirable-untouchable underworld class without the digital vaccination certificate built into your body.

Either way, the world order that shall enslave mankind beckons --- unless the public worldwide awakens to its dangers now and resists it forcefully --- it is virtually already a fait accompli. The sheep are of course never known to resist the butcher's knife nor protest the habit of mutton eating. read full story / add a comment
national / health / disability issues / opinion/analysis Tuesday March 31, 2020 22:14 by wsm
The Covid-19 global health crisis is one that required a global response led by health workers but with the consensus of almost everyone. Instead we face a piecemeal response, often in the form of repressive policing solutions that are not even particularly effective and where the borders between the states have undermined collective action and allowed the virus to multiply in the gaps.

Fear has led many to wish for harder state clampdowns as if a policing apparatus had any hope for substituting for collective solidarity between neighbours. The very ideology of neoliberal capitalism and its mantra of everyone looking after themselves has cut into the sort of community solidarity essential to popular enforcement of physical distancing. Thankfully in Ireland we discovered this process was not complete and a sufficient sense of solidarity remained that almost everyone implemented physical distancing measures before the state backed that process. read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Sunday March 15, 2020 07:11 by Anthony Ravlich
The following shows how domestically you can have a left-wing totalitarianism or right-wing totalitarianism and both are compatible with the UN's One World Government and its new globally dominant ideology, neoliberal absolutism. I consider human rights truth is more important than any so-called national security. read full story / add a comment
housingprotest620x330.jpg
national / housing / opinion/analysis Saturday March 14, 2020 20:41 by sp   image 1 image
The number of young Irish people in their 20s living at home has risen to 47.2% according to research by EU agency Eurofound. Ireland, along with Luxemburg and Romania, have the highest increases in Europe.

While throughout other EU countries there was a 2% increase, Ireland saw a 11% increase. According to the report, after the recession many young people had to move back home as they would be the first ones to lose their jobs due to them having just entered the job market. read full story / add a comment
labour620x330.jpg
national / politics / elections / opinion/analysis Sunday February 23, 2020 19:33 by sp   image 1 image
In the aftermath of the election that cemented their historically poor results of four years ago, Labour leader Brendan Howlin resigned, triggering a leadership race. The race will pit Alan Kelly, the most prominent figure remaining from the 2011-16 cabinet, against Aodhán Ó Ríordáin. read full story / add a comment
mick_barry_elected.jpg
national / politics / elections / opinion/analysis Thursday February 13, 2020 23:01 by sp   image 1 image
General Election 2020 was historic. It was only the second time that the combined vote of Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael went below 50%. 2016 was the first, when it dipped just below 50% by 0.2%. However, this time it plunged to just 43.4% — an historic low.

The election unfolded around the desire that emerged from below for “real change” and included the widespread understanding that this could only be achieved by a rejection of Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael.

Sinn Féin were the winners, receiving the biggest share of the popular vote at 24.53%, but Fianna Fáil have taken the most seats, as Sinn Féin didn’t stand enough candidates to maximise the full value of its surge in support. read full story / add a comment
This page can be viewed in
English Gaeilge
UK Indymedia Features

Tue May 02, 2017 01:55 UK Indymedia Features

offsite link UK Indymedia : 1999 - 2016 Fri Apr 28, 2017 19:19 | IMC UK | en

offsite link Build gardens not prisons Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:53 | anon | en

offsite link Maximus: Same Circus, Different Clowns Thu Mar 05, 2015 21:42 | solidarity collective | en

offsite link Police serve Bytemark with production order for Bristol Indymedia information Mon Sep 01, 2014 19:58 | UK Indymedia | en

offsite link Police action against Bristol Indymedia Thu Aug 28, 2014 17:27 | UK Indymedia | en

UK Indymedia Features >>

IMC network

© 2001-2020 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy